New Name   1 comment

So many things keep happening that I know I need to record, but I can’t decide whether to write them in my journal or chat them to my family on Facebook. I think that blog format will work.

The search is over, so this blog, which was formerly called “Rachel’s College Search Adventure” is being revived as “Rachel’s College Adventure.”

I’m going to post important big things as well as interesting little things that I can’t help but share.

A sample important big thing:
Last night’s Welcome Week activity was Quad After Dark, in which the quad was transformed into a carnival with popcorn, funnel cake, a giant slide, free stuff, a bouncy castle, and a bouncy obstacle course race. A girl from my hall convinced my to race against her on the bouncy obstacle course, even though I was wearing a skirt. It was fun, and I think we tied. The very last part was a slope, which, spur of the moment, I decided to go down on my stomach. So when I got to the bottom, and there were about two feet between the end of the slide and the ground, I put my hand out to beak my fall. I kind of hurt when I did that. Then I ran back to my residence hall to transfer my laundry, and I noticed in the laundry room that my wrist REALLY hurt, and my elbows were stinging and bleeding and dirty and I had a bouncy-obstacle-course-race-burn on my hip. This morning I made my first visit to the Student Health Center. The doctor said it was probably sprained, gave me some anti-inflamatory, and told me to get a sprint at CVS (and until then keep wearing the wrap my roommate lent me). It cost $20.

A sample interesting little thing:
Today was my last day of Discover DC, and my first day of pouring rain at college. We went to Dupont Circle, visited the organization DC Vote, ate lunch, met our tour guide, decided it was too rainy to go through with the Embassy Row walking tour and enjoy it at all, received walking tour coupons, decided to go to to the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History, and took the metro to the Mall. Inside, we decided to regroup in an hour. We all went to the Race exhibit, and everyone else eventually dispersed pretty quickly but I spent the hour there. At one point I was reading a display about how divisions in race are perceived differently in different cultures. An exchange student from Taiwan who was going to school at a university in some other state, I’ve forgotten, asked me to explain the display. He said he was practicing his English by reading the displays in the exhibit. I explained it, and I tried to clarify it a few times. He said that I explained it well, but his English was still poor enough that he didn’t think he understood the display completely. But he was really grateful, and I said I was was really happy that I could help a little bit. It was really cool.
I like talking to Asian-language-speaking people who are trying to get better at English. I met a Chinese grad student at the international ice cream social named Betty. She wanted to exchange phone numbers, so we did. I thought it was weird, but then I realized– they kinda don’t have Facebook in China. Exchanging phone numbers meant to her what friending on FB meant to me, and it was all cool. 🙂

Posted August 26, 2011 by rachelternes in Uncategorized

One response to “New Name

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mama was reading this to us and I thought she said popcorn funnel cake as if it was one thing, and I was wondering about it all day, and now that I’ve realized that popcorn funnel cake isn’t real, I’m sad.

Leave a Reply

